FIFA has announced the cities that would host the 2026 World Cup in United States, Mexico and Canada.

The World Cup would for the first time ever, host 48 nations. The 2026 showpiece will also be the first World Cup co-hosted by three countries. In 1998, FIFA expanded the World Cup to 32 teams, rewarding more competitive squads into the tournament.

However, the 2026 World Cup’s format will be different from previous editions. 

According to FIFA, the 2026 World Cup will have 16 groups of three teams. The first two teams of each group will qualify for a 32-team knock-out stage round.

Eleven of the approved cities are in the United States, which will host 60 games, while Canada has two and Mexico has three. Both of the latter two nations will host ten games each.

Mexico: having hosted the 1970 and 1986 tournaments, will become the first country to host or co-host the men’s World Cups three times.

The United States: having hosted the 1994 men’s and the 1999 and 2003 women’s World Cups, becomes the first country to host both men’s and women’s World Cup twice.

While Canada: having the hosted the 2015 Women’s World Cup, becomes the fifth country to host both men’s and women’s World Cup. The 2026 event will be Canada’s first hosting of the men’s World Cup.

After unveiling the host cities, FIFA said:

“We congratulate the 16 FIFA World Cup Host Cities on their outstanding commitment and passion. Today is a historic day – for everyone in those cities and states, for FIFA, for Canada, the USA and Mexico who will put on the greatest show on Earth. We look forward to working together with them to deliver what will be an unprecedented FIFA World Cup and a game-changer as we strive to make football truly global,” said FIFA President Gianni Infantino.

“We were delighted by the unparalleled competitiveness of this selection process. We are extremely grateful not only to the 16 cities that have been selected, but also to the other six – with whom we look forward to continuing to engage and explore additional opportunities to welcome fans and participating teams. This has always been a FIFA World Cup of three countries, and that undoubtedly will have a tremendous impact on the whole region and the wider football community,” added FIFA Vice President and Concacaf President Victor Montagliani.

United States host cities (11)
Atlanta – Mercedes-Benz Stadium
Boston – Gillette Stadium
Dallas – AT&T Stadium
Houston – NRG Stadium
Kansas City – Arrowhead Stadium
Los Angeles – Rose Bowl and SoFi Stadium
Miami – Hard Rock Stadium
New York/New Jersey – MetLife Stadium
Philadelphia – Lincoln Financial Field
San Francisco/Bay Area – Levi’s Stadium
Seattle – Lumen Field

Canada host cities (2)
Toronto – BMO Field
Vancouver – BC Place

Mexico host cities (3)
Guadalajara – Estadio Akron
Mexico City – Estadio Azteca
Monterrey – Estadio BBVA


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here