Bayern Munich forward Sadio Mane has won the 2022 African Player of the Year prize ahead of Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah and Chelsea goalkeeper Edouard Mendy, claiming the prestigious award at a glitzy ceremony in Rabat on Thursday.

It is the Senegal international’s second African Player of the Year title to become the fifth African after El Hadji Diouf, Samuel Eto’o, Yaya Toure, and Salah to win the award back-to-back.

Having been recognised as the best player on the continent, he is now two triumphs short of Eto’o and Toure – who won the prize a record four times.

Video announcement of CAF player of the year

This awards come following a superb 2021-22 season with the Liverpool – where he helped them win the FA Cup and Carabao Cup as well as playing a crucial role in their Uefa Champions League runners-up finish before heading to Bayern Munich in a €41 million (£35m/$43m) move.

At international level, Mane propelled the Lions of Teranga to win the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations where he contributed three goals and two assists to win the Player of the Tournament as well as scoring the crucial penalty that downed Egypt inside Olembe Stadium in Yaounde.

Men’s Awards in Full

Club of the Year (Men) – Wydad Athletic Club
Interclub Player of the Year (Men) – Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)
Young Player of the Year (Men) – Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur)
National Team of the Year (Men) – Senegal
Goal of the Year- Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba)
Coach of the Year – (Men) – Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Nigeria and Barcelona talisman Asisat Oshoala has also been named the 2022 African Women’s Player of the Year.

The 27-year-old picked the award ahead of Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon and Inter Milan) and Zambia international Grace Chanda (Zambia and BIIK Kazygurt).

With this, she becomes the first African to win this prestigious for a record five times, overtaking Perpetua Nkwocha who claimed the accolade on four occasions.

Women’s Awards in Full

Club of the Year (Women) – Mamelodi Sundowns
Interclub Player of the Year (Women) – Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)
Young Player of the Year (Women) – Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)
Coach of the Year (Women) – Desiree Ellis (South Africa)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here