THOMAS TUCHEL has claimed Chelsea captain Jorginho was blinded by the lights as his shocking error gifted Manchester United a goal.

The midfield maestro bungled his first touch under a high ball as United cleared their lines in Sunday’s blockbuster Premier League encounter.

Red Devils winger Jadon Sancho pounced on the mistake to burst through and slot the ball past a sprawling Edouard Mendy.

That put the visitors 1-0 up at Stamford Bridge – but Blues boss Tuchel had a novel excuse for his skipper’s error.

He said: “He misjudged the situation and I think he was heavily disturbed from the lights. It happens.

“It takes a lot of courage and personality to not be affected during the match and to have the courage to take the penalty. I am very happy that he did it.”

Jorginho made up for his error 20 minutes later when he equalised with a hop-skip-and-jump from the penalty spot.

United defender Aaron Wan-Bissake gave away the spotkick when he booted Thiago Silva in the box.

And Jorginho made amends as he converted after his trademark stuttering run-up left David De Gea wrong-footed in the United net.

Tuchel himself has also seen his name hit the headlines following the frantic 1-1 draw.

The German was shown a yellow cardafter ranting at ref Anthony Taylor for failing to spot an offside and instead awarding the visitors a corner.

Chelsea are one point clear of Liverpool at the top of the table as the Premier League heads into its packed December schedule.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here