Real Madrid felt aggrieved to have a goal ruled out just before half-time of their Champions League final against Liverpool when Karim Benzema was deemed to be offside following a lengthy VAR stoppage.

Karim Benzema briefly thought he had continued his stunning run in front of goal for Real Madrid in the Champions League before VAR brought his opening strike back for offside.

The La Liga side had been pinned back for the bulk of the first-half but had the ball in Alisson’s net with virtually their first attack of the game when Benzema swept home after the ball had pinballed around the box.

Alisson pawed Benzema’s attempted pass onto Ibrahima Konate and the ball then deflected off the centre-back and onto Fabinho’s shins before ricocheting into the Real Madrid striker’s path to score. A long VAR check ensued before referee Clement Turpin eventually ruled the goal out.

Former Premier League referee Peter Walton explained that it had been disallowed as Fabinho had knocked the ball to Benzema unintentionally and, as the Frenchman was stood behind Alisson, he was adjudged to be offside.

But he was deemed to have been in an illicit position when he struck, leaving the final deadlocked at 0-0 when the half-time whistle blew.

The first half was in its final minutes when Benzema struck for what he thought was his 16th goal of the Champions League campaign.

A mix-up in the Liverpool defence left the Frenchman with a chance from close-range and he converted with ease.

Referee Clement Turpin, however, was quick to signal an offside, and VAR confirmed the decision.

While the final touch prior to Benzema’s finish appeared to come from Fabinho, it was ruled accidental, meaning that the forward was indeed offside.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here